Countries That Joined the OAS Family After 1969

A total of 35 countries have ratified the OAS Charter. Following the entry of Barbados, Trinidad and Tobago, and Jamaica in the latter part of the 1960s, 11 other countries (listed below) were incorporated into the OAS between 1975 and 1991. Since then, there have been no new signatories, but many non-members from around the world including Europe have been welcomed as Permanent Observers. Since 1972, the OAS General Assembly established a role for Permanent Observers to allow for them to follow the activities and attend certain meetings of the Organization. Currently there are 74 Permanent Observers in the OAS, comprised of countries from Europe, Asia, and the Pacific. These Observers are a vital link to the global community, having access to a diverse, multilateral diplomatic forum and contribute to the dialogue on international issues. They also provide technical and financial assistance, professional training opportunities, sharing of best practices as well as academic scholarships.

• Grenada (1975)
• Suriname (1977)
• Dominica (1979)
• Saint Lucia (1979)
• Antigua and Barbuda (1981)
• St. Vincent and the Grenadines (1981)
• The Bahamas (1982)
• St. Kitts and Nevis (1984)
• Canada (1990)
• Belize (1991)
• Guyana (1991)